I subscribe to a LOT of food/recipe newsletters.  The problem with this is that most of these authors are based in the USA or UK.  Why is this a problem you ask, well….when I look out my window and see wind and rain and inside the heater is blazing away, the last thing I feel like eating is a “Lovely Spring Salad”

On a related topic, I have decided to feed my household (this consists of my husband and I) a completely vegetarian diet for the next month.  I don’t think I should include Zani in this experiment, mainly because Woolies does not make veggie toddler meals, but mostly because I’m a bit scared that she won’t be getting the correct balance of nutrients if I include her.

This will come as a shock to those who know me, as I am the typical South African meat lover.  Give me a braai any day of the week and I will be happy.  I think this stems from my childhood – my dad is the ultimate meat lover.  Even if my mom makes macaroni and cheese, she has to make meatballs with it otherwise dad won’t be a happy chappie.  We used to braai at least twice a week and even now, my dad will light the fire on a Friday and/or Saturday night.

Do I think that we will make it through a whole month with no chicken/lamb/beef/pork….I really don’t know, but I’m willing to give it a shot.  If you are perhaps wondering why I would willingly submit myself to this misery (only kidding real veggie people!), I would suggest that you have a look at the new PnP Fresh Living magazine – especially the little additional magazine that is included this month.  I found myself inspired!  At the moment I am planning our menu for next week.  The only problem I can foresee is that I, once again, sprouted off and promised to cook the food for Mother’s Day (8 May 2011).  I can either stick with the plan 100%, or take the one day off.  Will see if I can find some veggie recipes that might please dad, otherwise we might just have to go the roast route….again.  Fear not gentle reader, for I will keep you updated with our progress.

Now, just to be crystal clear….bacon is vegetarian, right???

